top of page

Mindset for the New Semester

I have said it time and time again: going back to school this year just looks so different for all us. For those of us going back, it’s what we have all been waiting for: everything to go back to the way it was. I love the idea of going back to school and living the way I used to. I have been looking forward to it since March! However, I can’t help but to also be scared. Is it just me?




I think we can all come to terms with the fact that the normal is going to be completely different than what we want it to be. How do we continue to live our lives in the same way we did before? The answer is simple, we don’t. I recently was in a meeting focused on figuring out how to navigate the upcoming academic year. The planning was unlike anything I have ever seen. I do not know who needs to hear this, but things will not be the same and we shouldn’t call this a transition back to normal, because honestly it just isn’t.

However, this is not a bad thing! For some of us, we needed quarantine to finally inspire us to do the things we love that we were putting off for so long. Some of us discovered new hobbies and passions. The internet community grew, and I personally got to meet some amazing people. We all took some time to reflect on ourselves and on the world. This was an opportunity for us to slow down from the chaos of life and realize just what it means to truly live. This year is the year to take charge as much as you can. This year I am taking charge of my academics and getting one step closer to finishing MCAT prerequisites! What are your goals and how are you obtaining them?

How can you navigate the changes? Be true to who you are. Be loving and kind. Practice gratuity. Celebrate the good news. It is going to be hard to adjust. Social distancing measures will still be in place and it may be a long time until you get to hug your loved ones and spend time with them in the way you did before. It will take time to build back up. Nevertheless, it is NOT the time to lose hope. I am learning to be more gracious and lean into the things and people I love most. Life is too short to keep rushing from one thing to another. Take that time to stop and take it all in.

I encourage you to take this mindset as you try to adjust to all the unexpected circumstances of the semester. Continue to set goals for yourself and set out to accomplish what hoped for this year. COVID-19 has brought several changes and shutdowns but we cannot let the pandemic shut down our spirits! School is beginning for a lot of us this next week and I wish you all luck! Let this be a great semester for all of us!

Love Always,

Karen <3


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page