top of page

Gearing Up For College: How Do I Choose What I Want to Do?

What's a college blog without some college talk? So, let's talk about college! The next big educational step. As many of you know, I am a neuroscience student at Rice University on the pre-medical path. It is all very easy to write in one sentence like that, but the work certainly isn’t all that simple (LOL). However, one thing I have been pondering lately is the motivation behind my major.


I recently read a statement from my best friend, Julie, and her motivation to pursue a French major & study abroad in Korea. Now, this statement was BEAUTIFUL. It all boiled down to her love of French and being connected to her culture in Korea. What inspired me most was knowing that she is actively taking all her passions and channeling them into what she wants to pursue. If you are not appreciating what you do on THOSE levels, you might have to keep on reading.


For the college-bound seniors/undecided majors/pondering peoples, this one is for you. Picking a major can be entirely overwhelming! Thinking about picking something to study for FOUR YEARS?? That is a big decision. My advice is not to tell you to major in neuroscience because I think it is the coolest or to force you to pick your major now before it is too late. IT IS OKAY to not have it all figured out by the time orientation week arrives. The beautiful thing about college is that there is quite literally a class for everything and ample opportunity to find what you enjoy.


Start with what motivates you. For me, it most often boils down to my life experiences. I am passionate about neuroscience and medicine because of my family background with neurodegenerative disorders. I chose my major because I see a need in a field and want to do everything I can to fill it. You don’t want to get to a point in life where what you are doing isn’t making any difference. College is hard, I will not sugarcoat it, BUT once you are passionate about what you are doing? The. Passion. Outweighs. The. Work.


Did you know most colleges don’t even make you declare a major until AFTER your first year? I encourage you to make the most of your first semester exploring courses and establishing what interests you and what doesn’t. Obviously, exploring EVERYTHING can get a little difficult credit hour wise because like I said before, there is quite literally a class for EVERYTHING. My advice would be this. Don’t think: “What should I do for the rest of my life?”. Instead, think: “What makes me happy? Where can I put myself where I know I will make the biggest difference?”.

The LAST thing you want is your major to feel like a drag to you.


Don’t limit yourself to a “typical track”. I know theatre, English, and FRENCH majors studying on the pre-medicine track (Yeah, that's right. She's also pre-med.) I know art majors who never have to sit down studying for STEM courses. Do NOT ever feel like you need to bulk up on all the science, math and take all the “core classes”. College is not high school. Sure, there are some graduation requirements to be met BUT there is no added stress like taking all the APs and securing all the credits you possibly can. You have done that! Now is the time to breathe, focus on what really lights your fire and CHOOSE THAT!


Also, it never has to be just one thing! You can always find ways to fit interesting classes in your schedule, and minors are your best friend! I have a special place in my heart for humanities and studying Japanese. My major does not stop me from pursuing those! Do not deny your interests for the sake of a degree. Once you solidify what you envision your future to look like, there are so many resources available to help you! Lastly, if you ever need any advice, feel free to get in touch!


Love Always,

Karen <3



Some snippets of Julie and me! The face behind the inspiration!



29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page