top of page

Deciding to take a Summer Course?

Summertime as a college student is the perfect time to invest in loads of opportunities and experiences! This summer looked very different for a lot of us and held many canceled opportunities. I decided to fill my summer with taking a class instead! Taking a summer class has a variety of factors (especially now) so I decided to write a little about some things I learned and what you should know before deciding to take that step and sign up!


Things move VERY fast. Of course, this is a given. You are most likely signing up to take a class that is usually given as a course over a semester condensed in just 5-6 weeks. The fast pace could be a little overwhelming and I think it is definitely something to consider because everyone’s learning style is different. Going very fast could be something that you will not enjoy. I would also recommend doing some Coursera classes or other free courses if you are still looking to learn without the additional stress of letter grade on your transcript.


Dedicate time to your course. Depending on the specific course you are taking, the time allotted can look very different. I personally took Organic Chemistry over this summer and dedicated around 10-14 hours a day to it. Again, NOT every class is like this. However, I honestly recommend limiting some of the extra things you do alongside your summer class. Find a schedule that works for you so you can spend time really grasping the material in your course.


Try to find a study group and find it early! Summer classes being online makes it easy for people from all over to be able to take it. I really believe that studying in groups can be extremely beneficial; especially when taking classes that are this fast-paced. I recommend reaching out to people in any way you can and forming Zoom study groups. If you know other people taking the class, reach out to them too! This is definitely something that proved to be worthwhile for me!


Attend office hours! Personally, I found it extremely helpful to attend office hours online because I could get my questions answered, learn from others, and build connections with the instructor and other peers. Remember, professors want you to succeed! Do not be afraid to approach them and ask for help when you need it!


Do not be afraid to reconstruct your study habits! This is something I definitely struggled with within the first few weeks of my course. Taking a class in summer (and more importantly, online) is much more different than you would imagine. The time you have to spend studying and the amount of content covered each day can be drastically different, too. It takes a little bit of time to learn what works for you but do not be afraid to shift and change what is not working for you. Some things I found helpful were rewatching/relistening to lectures, planning breaks into my study schedule, and reading book chapters beforehand.


For all of you gearing up to taking courses for the remainder of the summer, YOU GOT THIS! Stay strong and believe that you can do it! Do not let yourself get too overwhelmed and never feel afraid to reach out! Happy studying! :)


Karen <3


Support #BLM and fight for justice. Link to resources: https://blacklivesmatters.carrd.co/


21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page